Professional Affiliations

2019 Support Staff Research Enhancement Award

NASA is pleased to call for nominations on behalf of the University of Alberta.

The University of Alberta Support Staff Research Enhancement Award is a joint initiative of NASA and the Vice-President (Research) Office.

This award recognizes support staff who consistently make a positive contribution to the research success of their Faculty/Department/Unit and the University by providing outstanding service; fostering innovation; creating a positive influence in the workplace; and demonstrating leadership. The award is open to all support staff, both operating and trust funded. Individuals may receive this award only once.

The award will consist of up to two prizes, valued at $1,000 each.

Would you like to nominate someone who contributes to the research success of the University of Alberta? See the link here for the nomination form.

Please submit nominations to Kate Ballash ( by 4 p.m., Tuesday, August 6, 2019.

Confederation of Faculty Associations

The AASUA is a dues paying member of CAFA which is the federation of academic staff associations. CAFA is registered as a lobbyist under the Lobbyist Act.

The objectives of the Confederation are to promote the quality of education in the province and to promote the well-being of Alberta universities and their academic staff. The member associations of CAFA are: 

Association of Academic Staff University of Alberta (AASUA)

Athabasca University Faculty Association (AUFA)

The University of Lethbridge Faculty Association (ULFA)

Grant MacEwan University Faculty Association (GMUFA) 

Mount Royal Faculty Association (MRFA)

Canadian Association of University Teachers

The AASUA is a dues paying member of CAUT which is a national organization for academic staff representing 70,000 teachers, librarians, researchers, general staff and other academic professionals at some 122 universities and colleges across the country. CAUT was founded in 1951 and is the brainchild of AASUA.

CAUT Defence Fund

The Defence Fund provides strike benefits to associations while its members are engaged in a strike or lock-out and experiencing loss of salary. AASUA members recently ratified subscription to the CAUT Defence Fund.

Universities Academic Pension Plan

The UAPP is a jointly-trusteed, defined-benefit pension plan registered under the Employment Pension Plans Act of Alberta, and the Income Tax Act (Canada). The eligible academic and professional staff of Athabasca University, The Banff Centre, the University of Alberta, the University of Calgary and the University of Lethbridge participate in the Plan. 

The Plan Sponsors are the boards of governors and the faculty associations of the four Alberta universities and the Banff Centre and are bound by the Sponsorship and Trustee Agreement. The Sponsors' appoint members to the Board of Trustees and approve any changes to the pension plan benefits.

The UAPP is financed by employee and employer contributions and by investment earnings.

The AASUA President or delegate represents the Association as Sponsor and appoints an academic staff member as a Trustee on the UAPP's Board of Trustees.

Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 10.18.43 AM

Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 10.13.59 AM

Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 10.10.19 AM

Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 10.16.08 AM

Viewed 1,687 times