Dear Colleagues, 

I am pleased to announce AASUA has served notice to the Board of Governors to commence bargaining for a renewal Collective Agreement. Our current Collective Agreement expires June 30, 2024.

All our work has led up to this moment: your input on bargaining priority surveys, the Bargaining Planning Committee’s establishment of union-wide bargaining priorities, and our Negotiating Teams’ research. 

Of course, this is only the beginning. Opening proposals will be exchanged early this semester, after which you will receive timely bargaining updates as negotiations unfold. 

As previously announced, AASUA’s Negotiating Team includes the following members

  • Lead Negotiator, Cherie Klassen
  • Brian Fleck, Professor, Faculty of Engineering 
  • Valentina Kozlova, Full Teaching Professor, Faculty of Arts
  • Camille Laforest, Collection Strategies Librarian

With resource persons:

  • Brygeda Renke, Executive Director & General Counsel
  • Leanne Rosinski, Associate Director, Labour Relations
  • Aly Koskela, Senior Labour Relations Officer
  • Kelly MacFarlane, Full Teaching Professor, Faculty of Arts
  • Beth Powell, Full Lecturer, Faculty of Science

After we served notice, the Employer informed us their Bargaining Committee includes the following persons:

  • Lead Negotiator, Geoff Tierney
  • Matina Kalcounis-Rueppell, College Dean and Vice-Provost, College of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Vic Adamovicz, Vice-Dean, Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
  • Trina Fisher, Senior Officer, Employee and Labour Relations 
  • Brian Pearson, Senior Faculty Relations Officer, Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
  • Michelle Strong, Director, Faculty Relations, Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Essential Services Agreement

AASUA and the Employer will also be negotiating an Essential Services Agreement which is required under the Alberta Labour Relations Code should job action (a strike or a lockout) occur. The legislated definition of essential services are public services that if interrupted would endanger the life, personal safety, or health of the public. 

AASUA’s Negotiating Team for this agreement remains the same as the team for negotiating the renewal Collective Agreement. 

The Employer’s Bargaining Committee for the Essential Services Agreement includes:

  • Lead Negotiator, Brian Pearson
  • Aly Moorji, Employee and Labour Relations Officer, Human Resources, Health, Safety and Environment
  • Jason Acker, Associate Vice-President (Research Integrity Support), Vice-President (Research and Innovation)
  • Dennis Kunimoto, Vice Dean (Faculty Affairs), Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
  • Ravina Sanghera, Vice-Provost and Dean of Students
  • Andrew Cooper, Manager, Regulatory & Consulting Services, Human Resources, Health, Safety & Environment

We look forward to sharing more with you once both parties have exchanged opening proposals. 


Gordon Swaters
AASUA President